In Dedication To The Lost Baby Hamsters

It has been a sad time. Over the past few weeks a blogging friend of mine lost 13 baby hamsters due to liver disease. It was really hard for her and she has been so so strong.

Baby Jeeves and Monty, the last babies R.I.P

I wanted to do something to commemorate them, so decided to make a little hamster! This hamster represents all of them, so instead of choosing one of the names given to the babies I have decided to name him ‘Hammy’.
I decided it would be nice to include my pet mice in the picture playing with hammy :) I haven’t had chance to introduce my lovely mice to my blog yet, so this is also their introduction post!


Meet Hammy, Strawberry and Chocolate! Strawberry is the grey mouse and chocolate is the brown one :) They are both female, and are around 1 year old. Strawberry was originally white and cream, but around Christmas she began turning grey. We were really worried when the first grey patch appeared, but it turned out she was just changing colour! There was nothing online about it though, so it can’t be very common. Some time soon I will post a picture of when she was a baby so you can see the difference!


They we’re both so excited to meet Hammy, it was hard to get a picture of them sitting still! That’s where the treat of  Bran Flake’s came in – They loved them!


If you want to pay your respects to the lost little babies and have a look at the gorgeous real hamsters Eve and Dexter instead of looking at my crochet one, go to the lovely Hamster Diaries blog.

As I had this post to share I will be doing my Etsy Finds tomorrow instead of today like usual, so come back tomorrow to check out the lovely finds :)

Thank you for visiting today
Sam xx

p.s. Don’t forget to enter my giveaway if you haven’t already! Only a few days left now! :)

10 thoughts on “In Dedication To The Lost Baby Hamsters

  1. Oh my goodness, I am incredibly touched! Hammy is just gooooorgeous and such a fitting remembrance token! I wish i could crochet myself one! Would be a beautiful memorial for the lost. You are very talented and ever so thoughtful. You have been so good to me through these tough times. I am eternally grateful for your words, they provided me with comfort and confidence when I needed it most. <3 A true blogging friend, xxx

    • I’m so glad you like him :) I just wanted to do something somehow, and this came to mind! Would you like me to make you one so you have your own? You can choose the pattern and colours, and I’d be very happy to make you one if you want :) xxx

      • Oh my goodness I would be honoured!! :D It looks fantastic, it must have taken you ages! Oh wowowow! Im so excited, hmm what kind of colours would you recommend?? Is it tricky to mix up colours for like the belly part and the ears and paws etc or is it easy if you know how?? :P xxx

  2. Pingback: Lullabies & Sawdust « Hamster Diaries

What do you think? Leave a comment!

